A DUI arrest goes far beyond the initial arrest and conviction. Even a first time DUI arrest will involve mandatory jail time, hefty fines costing you up to $1250, the installation of an ignition interlock device (IID), 100 hours of community service and a 30 day license suspension.
You will also have to undergo an alcohol treatment evaluation and in some cases you may have to spend up to 6 months in jail, and that's only if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was between .08% and below 0.15%. If your BAC registered at 0.15% or higher, then you face enhanced penalties. What's more, a DUI conviction will wreak havoc on your auto insurance premiums, which can add thousands of dollars to the cost of a DUI conviction in Kansas.
DUI penalties vary depending upon the circumstances of the case. While the majority of first time DUIs are prosecuted as misdemeanors, certain multiple DUIs or cases involving vehicular manslaughter or DUI with injury may be prosecuted as a felony DUI in this state. Whether this is your first DUI offense, or if you were arrested for DUI & drugs, or an underage DUI, I can defend the most complex DUI cases and zealously fight to prevent a driver's license suspension on your behalf.
In this country, when anyone faces criminal charges whether it is for DUI or violating a protection order, they have a right to a defense! Contrary to popular belief, there are many DUI defenses that may result in getting a DUI case thrown out of court. It takes a seasoned and knowledgeable attorney to call into question the reliability of breath tests, field sobriety tests, and blood tests. Law enforcement, just like anybody else is prone to making mistakes; however, it takes a trained eye in order to search for and unearth flaws in a DUI case, but they can and do happen all the time.
When you are arrested for DUI in Kansas, you have just 14 calendar days from the date of your arrest to schedule a DMV hearing. The DMV hearing is an administrative hearing where your driver's license suspension is addressed. If you fail to schedule and attend this hearing, your driver's license will be automatically suspended and you won't have any way to go back and change this.
This is a very critical time to have an attorney present; I have attended countless DMV hearings in my career and I am extremely familiar with their procedures as well as the administrative staff at the local DMVs. I know how critical it is that you avoid a driver's license suspension and I will use all of my legal tools to try and prevent this from happening.
In addition to DUI defense, I also take on criminal defense cases involving assault, battery, and theft crimes. I frequently handle cases involving domestic violence and domestic battery whether they involve violence between spouses, family members or people who have a child in common. If you are facing charges of harassment, DUI with drugs, violation of protection orders or violation of stalking orders, I can defend you as well.
Regardless of the circumstances of your case, you need help from a seasoned defense attorney. In all cases that I accept, my primary mission is to do whatever I can to reduce or eliminate the penalties that my client faces.